Nepal for all seasons

tempobet giris linki superbahis giris supertotobet giris adresi tipobet giris adresi canli casino siteleri en guvenilir canli bahis siteleri

TAAN participates in tourism recovery meeting

July 06 , 2015

TAAN participates in tourism recovery meeting

Trekking Agencies' Association of Nepal (TAAN) participated in the first meeting of National Tourism Promotion Committee (NTPC) held in Kathmandu under the chairmanship of Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Kripasur Sherpa on July 5.

TAAN President Ramesh Prasad Dhamala and First Vice President Kami Rinzi Sherpa represented TAAN in the meeting.

The meeting, among others, decided to form an executive committee under the leadership of tourism entrepreneur Yogendra Shakya. Another tourism entrepreneur Lhakpa Sonam Sherpa is the joint coordinator of the executive committee. Other members in the executive committee are TAAN Founding President Ambica Shrestha, Tourism Secretary Suresh Man Shrestha, Joint Secretary Umakanta Parajuli, Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) board members Rajendra Sapkota and Ghanendra Shrestha and NTB's Chief Administrator Ramesh Adhikari. Tulsi Prasad Gautam, director general of Department of Tourism (DoT), is the membership as well as spokesperson of the executive committee.

The meeting also decided to implement Pokhara Declaration 2015 as well as the report for tourism recovery submitted by PATA. It also decided to direct concerned agencies to install weather forecasting equipment at base camps of major mountains, and take proper decision for ensuring security of air passengers and trekkers. Similarly, the meeting decided to request the foreign ministry to take initiative for softening travel advisories issued by major tourist generating markets.

The meeting also decided to request the finance ministry to give income tax holiday to all industries for a year and do the needful for rescheduling bank loans taken by tourism-based for a year and give subsidy on bank interest rates.

It has also formed three sub-committees – international marketing & promotion sub-committee, tourism and cultural heritage sub-committee, and adventure tourism sub-committee.

Speaking at the meeting, TAAN President Dhamala urged the government to bring all stakeholders of tourism ministry under the umbrella of NTPC.