Nepal for all seasons

tempobet giris linki superbahis giris supertotobet giris adresi tipobet giris adresi canli casino siteleri en guvenilir canli bahis siteleri

Tourism entrepreneuers begin relay hunger strike

May 16 , 2014

Tourism entrepreneuers begin relay hunger strike

Agitating travel trade entrepreneurs have begun a six-day relay hunger strike on the premises of Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) to pile pressure on the government to address their demands.

Organizing a press meet in Kathmandu on Thursday, Joint Tourism Coordination Committee (JTCC) unveiled second phase of protest programs.

As per the protest program, 25 representatives of different travel trade associations started 12-hour hunger strike from Thursday itself. The relay hunger strike will continue for the next six days.

Addressing the program, Ramesh Dhamala, coordinator of JTCC and president of TAAN, said they would announce strong protest programs if their demands are not addressed in the next six days. “We met Prime Minister Sushil Koirala today and apprised him of our demands. He is positive toward our demand,” Dhamala said, adding, “We are always ready to sit for talks; we would withdraw our protest once our demands are addressed.”

JTCC has said that they would give continuity to the sit-in protest program along with the relay hunger strike.

Keshav Pandey, senior vice president of TAAN, and Ram Saran Thapaliya, president of Thamel Tourism Development Committee (TTDC), also spoke on the occasion.

JTCC has demanded removal of Subash Nirola from the post of acting CEO of NTB to pave the way for early appointment of new CEO, independent audit of expenditures made by NTB over the past five years, and institutional representation of private sector in the board of NTB, among others.

As many as 35 travel trade associations and tourism related bodies from across the country are under the umbrella of JTCC.

List of entrepreneurs participating in 12-hr hunger strike:

1. Janak Pandey- NEAT Nepal

2. Rajendra Prsad Subedi – Ganesh Himal Tourism Development Committee

3. Tilak Thapa Magar – Nepal Magar Tourism Society

4. Ram Saran Thapaliya – Thamel Tourism Development Committee

5. Chandra Rijal – Nepal National Tourism Entrepreneurs Association

6. Chandra Dahal – Nepal Association of Rafting Agents

7. DB Limbu – NATTA

8. Bimal Naharki – NMA

9. Nilhari Bastola (Nilam) – TAAN

10. Pashupati Kandel – NEAT Nepal

11. Damber Parajuli – EOAN

12. Thakur Prasad Khanal – Gorkha Tourism

13. Pasang Sherpa – Nepal Mountaineering Association

14. Abir Malla – UCPN (Maoist) Tourism Sector

15. Pema Tshering Sherpa – Nepal Mountaineering Association

16. Ganesh Simkhada – Nepal Trekking Entrepreneurs Forum

17. Karna Lama – Nepal Canyoning Association

18. Rajan Bhujel – Nepal Tourist Bus Association

19. Shyam Madan KC – NATTA

20. Bimal Pathak – NEAT Nepal

21. Santa Bahadur Gurung – Gurung Tourism Entrepreneurs Association

22. Uttam Rijal – NEAT Nepal

23. Kishor Khadka – Far Western Development Initiation

24. Sudarshan Pradhan – Annaurna Village Tourism Development Committee

25. Nawang Tenzing Sherpa – Nepal Mountaineering Association