Nepal for all seasons

tempobet giris linki superbahis giris supertotobet giris adresi tipobet giris adresi canli casino siteleri en guvenilir canli bahis siteleri

53rd Dhaulagiri Ascent Day celebrated

May 27 , 2013

53rd Dhaulagiri Ascent Day celebrated

The Pokhara Chapter of Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) organized various programs in Myagdi district on May 13 and 14 to celebrate 53rd anniversary of the first ascent of Mt Dhaulagiri (8167m).

The program began with a morning procession at Beni Bazaar. Ang Rita Sherpa, who has climbed Mt Dhaulagiri eight times without bottled oxygen, was chief guest of the event. The procession saw participation of government officials, tourism entrepreneurs, media persons and local people along with representatives of TAAN, TAAN Pokhara and Nepal Mountaineering Association’s Annapurna Chapter.

TAAN Treasurer Anjan Thapa and executive member Rajendra Subedi along with staffers Devendra Dangol, Sabita KC and Banita Dewan participated in the event.

On the occasion, TAAN Pokhara honored Sherpa with cash prize of Rs 15,000. TAAN Pokhara President Narayan Sapkota handed over the check to Sherpa amid a function organized at Birendra Chowk. Myagdi CDO Chandra Bahadur Karki and Tikaram Sapkota, board member of NTB, also felicitated Sherpa.

Mt Dhaulagiri was first climbed by
a Swiss/Austrian/Nepali expedition on May 13, 1960. The peak was first climbed by Kurt Diemberger, P Diener, E Forrer, A Schelbert, Nyima Dorje Sherpa and Nawang Dorje Sherpa.