Nepal for all seasons

tempobet giris linki superbahis giris supertotobet giris adresi tipobet giris adresi canli casino siteleri en guvenilir canli bahis siteleri

Sherpa wins TAAN running c’ship

May 27 , 2013

Sherpa wins TAAN running c’ship

Fu Dorjee Sherpa of Adventure International Treks won the men’s event of TAAN Trekking Workers’ Running Championship 2013 held in Nagarjun forest on May 25.

Sherpa completed the 14-km race in 57 minutes and 13 seconds to finish ahead of Shiva Bikram Adhikari and Dhan Bahadur Tamang. Thapa, who represents The Great Adventure Treks, completed the race in 1 hour 3 minutes 13 seconds to finish second, while Tamang of Himalayan High Camp clocked 1 hour 5 minutes 56 seconds to take the third position.

Similarly, Tashi Jahmu Sherpa of Rasuwa Treks won the women’s race with a timing of 1 hour 17 minutes 56 seconds. Hema Thapa of Apex Himalaya Treks and Lata Sharma of Raj Bala Treks finished second and third clocking 1 hour 35 minutes 54 seconds and 1 hour 54 minutes 3 seconds respectively.

The winners of both categories bagged Rs 25,000 each. Similarly, the second and third position holders received Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 each.

A total of 99 participants from different member agencies of TAAN participated in the race.

Mohan Krishna Sapkota, joint secretary at the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoCTCA), inaugurated the event. Executive members, former office-bearers and staffers of TAAN were present in the program. Nepal Army, Department of National Parks and Wildlife Reserve, Nepal Sports Council, Naya Ganesh Youth Club, Janamaitri Hospital and Shivapuri-Nagarjun National Park supported the event.

“The event was organized to foster friendly relation among member agencies of TAAN and also to celebrate the diamond jubilee of the first ascent of Mt Everest,” Saroj Neupane, coordinator of Sports, Festival and Events Department of TAAN, said. “We will organize similar events in the coming years as well.” The championship was organized by Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) to mark the diamond jubilee of the first ascent of Mt Everest.