Nepal for all seasons

New executive committee of TAAN Pokhara assumes office

September 28 , 2016

New executive committee of TAAN Pokhara assumes office

The newly elected executive committee of Trekking Agencies' Association of Nepal (TAAN) Western Regional Association Pokhara assumed office on Tuesday.

Dambar KC, who is the former president of TAAN Pokhara and the coordinator of Election Committee, administered oath of office and secrecy to the new team led by President Deepak Raj Adhikari.

Adhikari, who was the first vice president in the previous executive committee, was elected unopposed. Along with Adhikari, Diwash Lamichhane was elected unanimously to the post of Treasurer. There, however, was tough competition in other posts.

Hari Prasad Bhujel, Bishwo Raj Adhikari, Sushil Raj Poudel, and Dharma Raj Panthi have been elected first vice president, second vice president, secretary and joint-secretary respectively. Similarly, Ram Chandra Adhikari, Kisham Kumari Gurung, Bishwa Hang Rai, Udaya Subedi, Milan Tiwari and Bal Bahadur Nepali are the newly elected executive members.

The 15-member new executive committee will complete shape after two members are nominated in the executive committee as per the TAAN statute. Immediate Past President Ram Chandra Sharma is also in the executive committee.

TAAN President Chandra Prasad Rijal inaugurated the 23rd Annual General Meeting of TAAN Pokhara. Speaking at the program, Rijal appreciated the works of the outgoing executive committee in the development and promotion of trekking sector in the Annapurna and Dhaulagiri region, among others. "I congratulate the new executive committee. The support of center will always be with you," he added.

TAAN Secretary Mukti Pandey and Treasurer Lila Baldab Dahal 'Kaka' as well as Executive Committee Members Sarita Lama, Tara Nath Lamichhane 'Dinesh', Pemba Sherpa 'Sangam', Surya Bahadur Ghimire and Fulee Sherpa as well as TAAN staffers Devendra Dangol and Sushil Raj Khatri had attended the AGM.